Archive for the ‘National Competency – Based Teacher Standards(NCBTS)’ Category

National Competency – Based Teacher Standards(NCBTS)l

August 14, 2009

What does NCBTS  stand for?

  • It is an integrated theoretical framework that defines the different dimensions of effective teaching.

National Competency Base National Competency-Based Teacher Standards

  • The Philippine NCBTS has defined what Effective Teaching is. It has clearly stated the strategic and indespensable role of the Teacher in the learning process of the students.

The NCBTS Framework is divided in 7 Domains:

1. Social Regard for Learning

2. Learning Environment

3. Diversity of Learners

4. Curriculum

5. Planning, Assessing, reporting

6. Community Linkages

7. Personal growth and Professionalism

According to the Framework “This will allow teachers to self-assess their own performance against the Competency Standards in order to identify areas of strength as well as areas that need to be developed further in order for them to function more effectively as facilitators of learning.”

Domain 1. Social Regard for Learning (SRFL)

The SRFL domain focuses on the ideal that teachers serve as positive and powerful role models of the value in the pursuit of different efforts to learn. The teacher’s action, statements, and different types of social interactions with students exemplify this ideal.

Domain 2. Learning Environment (LE)

This domain focuses on importance of providing a social, psychological and physical environment within which all students, regardless of their individual differences in learning, can engage in the different learning activities and work towards attaining high standards of learning

Domain 3. Diversity of Learners (DOL)

The DOL domain emphasizes the ideal that teachers can facilitate the learning process even with diverse learners, by recognizing and respecting individual differences and by using knowledge about their differences to design diverse sets of learning activities to ensure that all learners can attain the desired learning goals.

Domain 4. Curriculum (Curr.)

The curriculum domain refers to all elements of the teaching-learning process that work in convergence to help students understand the curricular goals and objectives, and to attain high standards of learning defined in the curriculum. These elements include the teacher’s knowledge of subject matter and the learning process, teaching-learning approaches and activities, instructional materials and learning resources.

Domain 5. Planning, Assessing & Reporting (PAR)

This domain refers to the alignment of assessment and planning activities. In particular, the PAR focuses on the (1) use of assessment data to plan and revise teaching-learning plans;

(2) integration of assessment procedures in the plan and implementation of teaching-learning activities, and (3) reporting of the learners’ actual achievement and behavior.

Domain 6. Community Linkages (CL)

The LC domain refers to the ideal that classroom activities are meaningfully linked to the experiences and aspirations of the learners in their homes and communities. Thus, this domain focuses on teachers’ efforts directed at strengthening the links between schools and communities to help in the attainment of the curricular goals.

Domain 7. Personal Growth & Professional Development (PGPD)

The PGPD domain emphasizes the ideal that teachers value having a high personal regard for the teaching profession, concern for professional development, and continuous improvement as teachers.

Why Do We Need the NCBTS?

  • – Provides a single framework that define effective teaching in all aspects of a teacher’s professional life & in all phases of teacher development.
  • Minimize confusion about what effective teaching is.
  • Provides a better guide for all teacher development programs